Chocolate Chip Cookie Crazy


While I have been on my Cabbage Soup Diet I decided that it would be a great time to do some cookie baking.  Why? Because I will not let myself eat the treats!  Usually when I bake cookies I take a bunch of dough bites, taste cookies that look too burnt, eat the cookies that break.  However, being on the Cabbage Soup Diet has given me a sense of control and perfectly laid out boundaries for my eating.  Besides, my husband volunteered to be the cookie tester, isn’t he a saint?

I have been meaning to attempt to improve my chocolate chip cookie making skills.  In the past my cookies all seemed to come out thin and flat I got the ingredients, put some gum in my mouth and went to work testing different approaches. 

The first thing I tried was to use my usual recipe, conveniently found on the back of the Toll House bag, and spend less time creaming the butter and sugar together.  supposedly if you over mix them you will end up with flat cookies.  Well, it didn’t help.  Next! (still working with the same dough) I chilled the dough for an hour and chilled the cookie sheets in the freezer.  No change. 

I then tried a recipe I found on a blog.  It is called the Great Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe.  I was interested in trying this one because it approached the butter differently.  The butter was to be cold and then cut into 1/2 inch pieces before mixing it with the sugar.  I altered the recipe only in using milk chocolate chips instead of semisweet chocolate chips and didn’t add the nuts in. The cookies turned out really nicely.  They didn’t look flat and thin but more on the chunky side which made me a happy girl.  However!  Jesse said that there was no difference between the taste of these cookies and the Toll House cookies. 

Today I tried another recipe which I am IN LOVE with!  IT is The Chunky Chocolate-Chip Cookies recipe from Country Living.  I wanted to try this recipe because it calls for melted butter that you then cool.  I am guessing because this changes the butter’s texture (it hardens back up when it cools).  I changed the recipe by accidently putting too little vanilla extract in (discovered that when mixing up a second batch) and instead of semisweet chips and bittersweet chocolate I put blue and red M&Ms and white chocolate chips in them because it was the 4th of July! (I also just finished baking some white chocolate with crazens, and some peanut butter M&M ones with this recipe). When getting ready to place the cookies on the baking sheet I had to re read the instructions.  They say to use 1/3 cup of dough per cookie.  The ball of dough looks HUGE!  But, it worked out.  The cookies are super big and tasty, they remind me of Costco cookies.   I highly recommend this recipe, even though I have not tasted it.  Just using such a big ball of cookie dough is extremely fun! Give them a try.  Below is a picture to show you how big they are.   By the way… I still haven’t eaten a cookie. 🙂

Leave a Reply

